Mission and History

Lord Shri Krishna

Most beautiful idol of Shri Krishna emerged from gopichandana block. Acharya Madhwaru brought the idol of Shri Krishna from sea-shore to Udupi and then, consecrated the idol in the matha on the bank of Madhwa Sarovara.
Acharya Madhwa appointed 8 bala sanyasi to worship Lord Shri Krishna.
So, ashta mutts came into existance. These are the Kaniyur, Sode, Puttige, Admar, Pejawar, Palimar, Krishnapura and Shirur Mutts.

PPISR is closely associated with the Admar Mutt, whose main center is in the village of Admaru, nearby Udupi.

Shri Poornaprajna

Shri Poornaprajna is the Mount-Everest of wisdom that the world has seen. Anandateertha, Madhva, Dashapramati, Purnabodha, Sarvajna etc., are his various other names. He is a great personality who, by his matchless wisdom, brought unprecedented spiritual revolution in the world of philosophy. His unparalleled greatness is that he, the glorious one of marvelous personality, opened the vistas of the scriptural world by contributing incomparable works to mankind.

The motto of the PPISR, transliterated from Devanagri script as vidyayaa vindate amritam, may be translated as
"Immortality through Knowledge"

Founder: His Holiness Sri Vibudhesha Theertha Swamiji

His Holiness Sri Vibudhesha Theertha Swamiji, the 29th Swamiji in the disciplic succession of the Admar Mutt, was the Founder and first President of our institute, as well as the umbrella organizations of Udupi Sri Admar Mutt Education Council (AMEC) and and Foundation (AMEF), under whose aegis it functions. His Holiness Sri Vibudhesha Theertha Swamiji, who attained the Lotus Feet of Lord Sri Krishna on 15th of September 2009, is well known, inspite of his mainly religio-spiritual and philosophical background as Chief Pontiff of the Admar Mutt, Udupi, for his unique contributions to the fields of education and research.

Having established 27 Poornaprajna Educational Institutions of eminence in different parts of the country for imparting secular as well as spiritual education of incomparable quality, HH Swamiji founded the Poornaprajna Institute of Scientific Research, as a crest jewel among these well-known institutions.

President: His Holiness Sri Vishwapriya Theertha Swamiji

Swamiji is the President, Udupi Sri Admar Mutt Education Council & Chairman, Udupi Sri Admar Mutt Education Foundation, which governs the Poornaprajna Institute of Scientific Research, Bangalore. His Holiness Sri Vishwapriya Theertha Swamiji, as a Great Visionary and a renowned scholar in philosophical doctrines, has extended his generous support to PPISR.

Fluent in Sanskrit and Kannada, His Holiness is a charming orator who is known to hold audience spell-bound with his intellectual discourses in which religio-spiritual themes are illustrated in a simple manner using analogies drawn from everyday situations.

The Visionary Savant His Holiness Sri Vishwapriya Theertha Swamiji is the source of inspiration for all activities in the institute.

A Brief History of the Institute

The Poornaprajna Group of Institutes are wellknown for providing quality education at schools and colleges throughout the country, underlining its commitment to excellence in academics. The focus of the PPISR, as the crest jewel of this group is to do outstanding original research and nurturing young talented minds and to become a source of encouragement to more nongovernment funded research institutions that dedicate themselves to promote research in fundamental and applied sciences.

Establishment Phase

  • 1993: Registration of Udupi Sri Admar Mutt Education Foundation (AMEF) as the governing body of PPISR.

  • 1998: Foundation stone laid by the then prime minister Sri A. B. Vajpayee.

  • 2003: Inauguration by Sri L. K. Advani, the then Deputy Prime Minister of India.

Academic Phase

  • 1997--2000: Hiring of postdocs, the first phase.

  • 2002--2003:Prof. Rama Rao is director, under whom the recognition by Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), Govt. of India, and by Manipal University for PhD program, were obtained.

  • 2003--2004: Prof. Gadadhar Mishra, ISI, Bangalore, takes over as Hon. Director, completing the first phase of the institute's establishment.

  • 2004--2006: Prof. Ananthakrishna, MRC, IISc takes over as Hon. Director, hiring the first faculty scientists.

  • 2008--2010: Prof. N. D. Haridass, Matscience, Chennai and CHEP, IISc, Bangalore, takes over as Hon. Director, developing a full-fledged city campus and conducting national and international symposia. The first Assistant Professorships awarded, to the Institute's faculty fellows.

  • 2010: Prof. A. B. Halgeri assumes Directorship, completing the task of establishing the main campus at Bidlur as a center for experimental and theoretical research. The first phase of hiring doctoral students, begins. The Divisions of Materials Sciences and Biological Sciences are established, by hiring new scientists and acquiring several new equipment.


Corporate Office: Poornaprajna Institute of Scientific Research No 4,16th Cross, Sadashivnagar, Bangalore, Ph: 080-23611836
Research Centre: Poornaprajna Institute of Scientific Research, Poornaprajnapura, Bidalur(post), Near Woodrich, Devanahalli, Bangalore, Ph: 080-23611836

© 2014 PPISR All rights reserved.